top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • darkangelinkitt

Writer's Block. A writer's worst enemy.

writer's block

/ˌrīdərz ˈbläk/ phrase of writer the condition of being unable to think of what to write or how to proceed with writing.

 

All writers have dealt with it at one time or another. Does it mean your a horrible writer? No. Writing has it's up and downs, and it's easy to feel discouraged. You may think that none of your ideas are good enough to be published, so what do you do? You don't write. You can't think of any 'good' ideas.


Mistake number one. Don't think any of your ideas are crap at first. Keep them in a notebook. Or make a google docs. Who knows? Maybe you'll incorporate that 'crappy' idea into your book some other time.


So how do you deal with writer's block?

That's why I'm here to help you.


1. Listen to music

Music is an amazing source for inspiration. There are depressing songs, love songs, and many other songs. When I get writer's block, I listen to music. And usually, after half an hour or so, I get a new idea, and I start writing. Most of the time it works.


2. Reading

Where's a better place to get inspiration for your novel from other novels? Now, I'm not going to say to copy word for word, or plagiarize. But there may be particular scenes from books that can be incorporated. For example, I got one my ideas for What Happened That Summer (https://www.inkitt.com/Darkangel04 (shameless self promotion) from a book I was reading, which I can't think of the title off of the top of my head. And it was a dramatic, juicy, scene and it led to great chapters after it.


3. Change your Environment

If you've been writing in the same environment for awhile, you'll get bored. Sometimes, you just need a change of setting. I used to write in my room all the time, and then I had what I thought was an incurable writer's block. Then, one summer day, I went outside, sat in the grass. And nearly twenty minutes later, I was halfway through the chapter I was having so much trouble on.


4. Go for a walk!

Take a breather! Enjoy nature's beauty, and who knows? Maybe it'll inspire you.... ;)


Those are the four main ways I 'cure' a writer's block. It may not be the right method for you, but there's no harm in trying!


Ciao!

-Angel







9 views0 comments
bottom of page